LibGuides: Main Menu: Medical Faculty and Staff

Medical Faculty and Staff

Many staff members are also affiliated with universities. These individuals are most often involved in teaching students in health professions programs and conducting research. This page is meant to be a guide to highlight which services and resources are available to staff members who are also currently affiliated with a university.

Looking for information on Medical Education in your area or interested in becoming affiliated with an institution? Contact the Medical Education department.

For information on resources available to you as a member of faculty, please click on the appropriate institution above.

Dalhousie University (Dal)

Students in medicine, pharmacy, occupational therapy, and other health professions are taught at a variety of Horizon sites. While the partnership with the Faculty of Medicine is the largest program and has the most support for distance students and faculty, there are a variety of services available for all current Dalhousie-affliated students and faculty. If you have any questions about what services and resources you are entitled to, either as a student or a preceptor, please contact your Dalhousie department.

Dalhousie University Libraries

As a Dal faculty member, you have access to Dalhousie University Libraries' resources, including ebooks, journals, databases, apps and more with your Dalhousie NetID. Not sure what your Dalhousie NetID is? See the section below.

Resources of note include databases such as EMBASE and Scopus, thousands of eBooks and eJournals, subject guides that list resources specific to your discipline, and mobile apps such as DynaMed Plus and VisualDx.

For access to all library resources, contact information, and locations, visit the Dalhousie Libraries website .

For information on the resources and support available to Dalhousie Medicine-affliated faculty, please visit the Dalhousie Medicine Tutor and Preceptor Resource Centre.

Your Horizon Librarians are Dalhousie-affiliated and can assist you with a variety of services, including literature searches, accessing articles and more. For more information, contact Library Services in your area.

Dalhousie NetID and Information Technology Services (ITS)

Your Dalhousie NetID is the username and password used to access library resources, MyDal (e-mail, OneDrive, etc.), DalOnline (employee information, tax forms, etc.) and more. Your NetID is a fixed series of numbers and letters in the form ab123456. You can reset your password, find your NetID, set up a password reset e-mail for your NetID (recommended) and more at the NetID & Password site. If you need other assistance with accessing your NetID, you can contact Dalhousie Information Technology Services (ITS).

Toll-free number 1-800-869-3931 or e-mail at helpdesk@dal.ca.

Your Dalhousie affiliation includes other services you can take advantage of, such as a free virus scanning program for your home computer, free Microsoft Office software, and free file sharing hosted on Dalhousie servers (good for sensitive or confidential documents such as sharing research materials).

Visit the Dalhousie ITS website for more information.

Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN)

Students from MUN's Faculty of Medicine are taught at sites across Horizon. MUN maintains an online Faculty Handbook in order to keep faculty aware of what is available to them, both at MUN and at a distance. Access the handbook for the most up to date information for faculty and contacts.

MUN University Libraries

As a MUN faculty member, you have access to resources through Memorial University Libraries, using your MUN login, including ebooks, journals, databases, apps, and more. Not sure what your MUN login is? See the section below.

Resources of note include databases such as EMBASE, thousands of eJournals and eBooks, subject guides for your discipline, and mobile apps such as DynaMed and UpToDate.

For access to all library resources, contact information, and locations, visit the MUN Libraries website.

MUN Information Technology Services (MUN IT)

To access the resources and services offered to you as a member of MUN's faculty, you will need to use your MUN Login username and password. This username and password will allow you to access your MUN e-mail, employee online services, library resources, and more. Please note all communcation from MUN will go to your MUN e-mail and cannot be forwarded to another e-mail address, per university policy.

If you do not know your MUN Login or password, you can contact MUN ITS for this information.

Visit the MUN Health Science Information and Media Service section of the Faculty Handbook for more information.

University of New Brunswick (UNB)

Students from a variety of UNB programs are taught at Horizon sites, including nursing, psychology, radiography and others. There are a variety of services and resources available to you as a member of UNB's faculty.

University of New Brunswick Libraries

As a UNB faculty member, you have access to resources through UNB Libraries, using your UNB Login, including ebooks, journals, databases, apps, and more. Not sure what your UNB Login is? See the section below.

Resources of note include databases such as Joanna Briggs Institute EBP, apps such as UpToDate, thousands of ebooks and ejournals, and subject guides for your discipline.

For access to all library resources, contact information, and locations, visit the UNB Libraries website.

UNB Information Technology Services

You will need to have an active UNB Login in order to make use of the resources offered to you by UNB, including library resources, e-mail, calendar, teaching resources and more. You would have been issued a login ID along with an employee ID number when beginning your affiliation with UNB. If you have not yet activated your IT services with UNB but have this information, you can activate your access here. If you need assistance with activating your UNB Login, contact UNB ITS.

Visit the UNB ITS website for more information about resources you have access to with your UNB Login, including software downloads, personalized UNB portal, storage and more.

Library Services – Fredericton Area	Library Services – Miramichi Area	Library Services – Moncton Area	Library Services – Saint John Area
phone: (506) 452-5432	phone: (506) 623-3216	phone: (506) 857-5447	phone: (506) 648-6763